ValeCooks Q1 Recap

Jan 1, 2024 – Mar 31, 2024

We've made it through Q1 this year. Here's a recap of what has happened in ValeCooks so far:

I have made 122 new recipes since January 1st.

I shared how to use my favorite recipe app, Paprika Recipe Manager, and recorded a couple of videos on YouTube.

So far, these are the top ten recipes I have made this year:

And we are back to regular Friday newsletter next week.

Recipes Made So Far This Year:

Goal: To try 7 different recipes each week 🗓️, aiming for a total of 365 this year!

 Number of Recipes Made this Week: 8

Number of New Recipes Tested as of 4/7: 130

Weeks Achieving 7 or More New Recipes: 14 out of 14

This Week’s Recipe Test Summary

Impress Someone🌟

Weeknight Tagliatelle with Bolognese Sauce from America’s Test Kitchen 🍝
One of H's and my favorite restaurants in LA is UOVO. One summer, we went there every weekend. I always got their bolognese—this recipe is so similar to theirs. I was thrilled! I froze half of it, and I'm going to try it next week to see if it freezes well.

Ultimate Banana Bread from Smitten Kitchen 🍌
This is a classic banana bread recipe that can't fail! Even H, who doesn’t eat many desserts, loved it. I made two banana breads this week because my sister gave me like 10 super ripe bananas.

Would Make Again 👍

This was my first time making a layered cake, and I was so proud of myself. I still need to work on those decorating skills. I made it for a family gathering, and everyone enjoyed it. I think I need to make it again because I might have left it in the oven a bit too long, and it wasn't so moist. I did add the crushed pineapple and walnuts, even though they were optional.

Would Not Make Again 👎

These recipes didn’t live up to expectations or just weren’t to my taste.

Vegetable Leek Risotto from scheckeats by Jeremy Scheck 🍚
This risotto followed the traditional method of adding broth little by little and stirring as it dries out, then repeating.

Caramelized Banana Bread from Breadsong: How Baking Changed Our Lives by Kitty and Al Tait🍌🍞
I added almond butter and chocolate chips and topped it with caramelized banana. The loaf has caramelized banana inside, but it turned out too mushy.

Chinese-American Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce from serious eats by J. Kenji López-Alt 🥦
I made this for my older brother, but the ginger was just too overpowering.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or any recipe request you might have. Just respond directly to this email.

See you next week. Keep cooking! 👋 

Vale from ValeCooks