• ValeCooks
  • Posts
  • Back with 17 New Recipes and a Baking Session with Amelie

Back with 17 New Recipes and a Baking Session with Amelie

I missed you last week—we were in the middle of moving and had a wedding in between. But we're back and settled in. I still met my goal of 7 recipes a week these past two weeks. This is how my kitchen looked Sunday night while I made one more recipe to meet the weekly goal🙈. Check out the 17 recipes I made over these past two weeks below! 🍽️

Recipe Request and Recommendation Corner

My younger cousin Amelie wanted to make a couple of recipes with me. This is always so fun because we make a couple of recipes she wants to try, and I am always excited to see what she chooses. This time, she requested we make cake pops, crème brûlée, and a lava cake. I had never made any of these, so I searched for the highest and most-rated recipes. Take a look at my thoughts on the recipes below! 🎂🍮🍫

Recipes Made So Far This Year:

Goal: To try seven new recipes each week 🗓️, aiming for 365 this year!

 Number of Recipes Made this Week: 10 (Week 22) and 7 (Week 23)

Number of New Recipes Tested as of 6/9: 201

Weeks Achieving seven or More New Recipes: 22 out of 23

This Week’s Recipe Test Summary

[Note: this covers Week 22 and Week 23.]

Impress Someone🌟

I am so excited to have found and made a great crème brûlée. I think this recipe can impress anyone, and it was so easy.

Wow! I loved this vegetarian recipe. I would cut the zucchini into smaller pieces, but I love the quinoa, pesto, and zucchini combo. Yummy!

Would Make Again 👍

These turned out great! They would be perfect for a baby shower or kids’ birthday party. For me, one is enough as they are pretty sweet but still delicious.

My sister made this pasta for us a few weeks ago, so I made it for my younger cousins during our baking session, and they both loved it. Combining pesto and vodka sauce is a bit heavy, but I still loved it.

The easiest thing to make. You can quickly whip it up for a side salad.

Another 30-minute pasta recipe and it was yummy.

I really enjoyed the crumble. I would omit the sugar in the apricot mix.

These taste like cookies your grandma would make; they have a warm feeling. This cookbook is one of my mom’s hidden gems.

Would Not Make Again 👎

These recipes didn’t live up to expectations or weren’t to my taste.

I recently purchased these ZOKU Mod Pops. American's Test Kitchen selected these as the best ice pop mold, and I definitely approved!

Molten Chocolate Cake from FOOD & WINE by Jean-Georges Vongerichten🍫

I had high hopes for this recipe, but the taste was not great. It might be because the recipe uses only bittersweet chocolate, which I might be biased against.

If you are looking for ValeCooks-approved popsicles, check out this post.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or any recipe requests you might have. Just respond directly to this email.

See you next week. Keep cooking! 👋 

Vale from ValeCooks