Week 9 Recipe Test Summary

 Week 9 Recipe Test Summary

Impress Someone🌟

Sweet Potato Tea Cake with Meringue from Elisabeth Prueitt🍠

It might just be me and my obsession with sweet potato, but I loved this bread. I couldn't finish it all within a few days, so I cut it into slices and froze them individually. I would pull one slice out of the freezer, heat it up on pan, and it tasted delicious. Note: I would just make it without the meringue; I did not think it added anything. And no wonder this is so good—the recipe was created by Tartine Bakery’s co-founder. 🍰

Would Make Again đź‘Ť

This recipe is another one of the Kitchn’s Recipe Showdown Wrapup winners. These were super easy to make, and if you have cocoa powder at home—you have all the ingredients, so make these now! My cousin and his girlfriend loved these. But nothing can beat these brown butter brownies ( which I seem to talk about in every newsletter).🤤

I am adding these to a quick lunch meal list. The baking and the marinating take awhile, but you don’t have to do much work other than wait.

Parmesan Chicken from Barefoot Contessa🧀

Simple and good - an easy option to accompany a pasta dish.

Would Not Make Again đź‘Ž

These recipes didn’t live up to expectations or just weren’t to my taste.
  1. Manicotti Florentine with Pink Sauce from LET’S EAT cookbook by Dan Pelosi đźŤ…

    I am a huge fan of Dan Pelosi.

  2. Penne Alla Vodka from Don’t Go Bacon My Heart đźŤť

    I had left over tomato puree from the Manicotti that I did not want to go to waste, so I found this recipe, and I had all the ingredients at home.

  3. Broccoli Pasta from the Don’t Panic Pantry Cookbook🌿

  4. Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies 2.0 from The Vanilla Bean Blog 🍪

    This is my favorite chocolate chip recipe…and the main reason I am a huge fan of Dan Pelosi.

  5. Sweet Potato Waffles from The Fiber Fueled Cookbook by Will Bulsiewicz

Recipes Made So Far This Year:

Goal: To try 7 different recipes each week 🗓️, aiming for a total of 365 this year!

 Number of New Recipes Tested as of 2/4: 76

Weeks Achieving 7 or More New Recipes: 9 out of 9

In case you missed it, I’ve put together some quick video tutorials showcasing my go-to recipe app - Paprika Recipe Manager.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or any recipe request you might have. Just respond directly to this email.

See you next week. Keep cooking! đź‘‹ 

Vale from ValeCooks