smitten kitchen

In 2022, I heard about Smitten Kitchen after a friend recommended one of her recipes. Deb Perelman’s blog has been around for 16+ years, but I don't think I had ever tried one of her recipes. Since then, I have tried 38 different recipes and still have many more I want to try. But I thought I would highlight some of the recipes I have tried that have been my favorite. Note: She also has a weekly newsletter I am subscribed to if you would like to check it out. 📬

Of the 38 recipes I have tried, these are my “Impress Someone🌟” and “Would Make Again 👍” only. There are lots of veggie recipes below. 🥦🥕

“Impress Someone🌟”

Credit: Smitten Kitchen

I made these last fall and loved them. They would be great as a gift to a friend in the fall. They were super easy to make.

It's a creative, sweet take on a “salad.” Great for a nice warm dinner with friends.

This is a classic in our household. I have made it more than ten times. We call it “porridge” as a joke because the rice soaks up the broth, and it does not look like soup. Leftovers are also great.

I love the amount of chocolate in these muffins and their moistness because of the plain yogurt. I made these as mini loaves and gifted them.

Best take on rice crispy treats.

Would Make Again 👍

Credit: Smitten Kitchen

A great classic blueberry muffin recipe.

Simplest Spaghetti Al Limone (vegetarian) 🍋🍝

Simple lemon pasta that is quick and easy to make.

A great classic banana bread recipe that can't go wrong.

Great recipe to make if you bought some fresh tomatoes from the farmer's market during summertime.

I've made this one a couple of times. It's super easy to make.

I've been loving roasted cabbage recently, and this recipe got me into it.

I loved the sweet potatoes but would leave the yogurt sauce out.

An Asian take on baked chicken wings.

Zucchini Butter Spaghetti (vegetarian) 🥒🍝

A super easy pasta to make that I've made for lunch a couple of times.

Recipe Request Corner

This week has been a down week. For the first time in 19 weeks, I did not meet the seven recipes goal a week. Also, this week, all my recipes fell under the Would Not Make👎 category.

I loved the idea of this recipe, so I was excited for this one.

I was worried about this recipe when I saw it had too much gelatin and collagen in just one cup of water. I was right—the gummies were too hard, and the taste was okay.

Recipes Made So Far This Year:

Goal: To try seven different recipes each week 🗓️, aiming for 365 this year!

 Number of Recipes Made this Week: 6❌

Number of New Recipes Tested as of 4/21: 167

Weeks Achieving seven or More New Recipes: 18 out of 19❌

This Week’s Recipe Test Summary

Impress Someone🌟

Nothing this week.

Would Make Again 👍

Nothing this week.

Would Not Make Again 👎

These recipes didn’t live up to expectations or weren’t to my taste.

Electrolyte Smoothie from Run Fast Cook Fast Eat Slow cookbook.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or any recipe requests you might have. Just respond directly to this email.

See you next week. Keep cooking! 👋 

Vale from ValeCooks