Hello Summer 🌞

I hope you are enjoying the sun! Summer always excites me because it means eating peaches every day and mandatory stops at Costco for the best peaches 🍑. There is so much in season right now, and I wanted to share what's in season and some recipes you can make with these delicious ingredients.

Blackberries

Blueberries 🫐

Peaches 🍑

Raspberries

Tomatoes 🍅

Zucchini 🥒

Recipe Request and Recommendation Corner

This week, I made several recipes with my mom that she chose and found online.

Recipes Made So Far This Year:

Goal: To try seven new recipes each week 🗓️, aiming for 365 this year!

 Number of Recipes Made this Week: 8

Number of New Recipes Tested as of 6/16: 209

Weeks Achieving seven or More New Recipes: 23 out of 24

This Week’s Recipe Test Summary

Impress Someone🌟

I was really surprised by this recipe. It is easy to make and comes with a delicious sauce, making it feel quite elegant. Note:

I would not recommend it if you do not like sweet and salty foods. Also, you must make a double batch of the sauce; one serving is too little.

Would Make Again 👍

I am a big fan of apple desserts, and I loved this!

It was a great side salad; my older brother ate it all and loved the crunch.

Would Not Make Again 👎

These recipes didn’t live up to expectations or weren’t to my taste.

This is a 2020 trending recipe, but the instructions were not clear, and it was just okay. Ina Garten’s Vodka Pasta is much better.

 Bolognese Meat Sauce from Food and Wine by Marcella Hazan 🍝

Another the kitchn winner tested, but this time, I have a much better Bolognese winner by America’s Test Kitchen

Mom’s Broccoli and Cheddar Scalloped Potatoes by Maxine Sharf | Instagram Post 🥦🧀

I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or any recipe requests you might have. Just respond directly to this email.

See you next week. Keep cooking! 👋 

Vale from ValeCooks