• ValeCooks
  • Posts
  • The Best Red Velvet Cake I've Ever Found 🍰

The Best Red Velvet Cake I've Ever Found 🍰

Welcome to the 10th edition of ValeCooks! 🎉 I'm still really excited to keep trying new recipes, aiming to test 365 recipes by the end of the year, and finding dishes that bring a smile to my family and friends. 😊

This week, I discovered at least two recipes that reminded me why I do this. H and I hosted two of my high school best friends and their partners for dinner on Sunday 🍽. I decided to prepare four new recipes alongside some classic favorites. Three out of these four dishes turned out perfect, with at least two making it to my top recipes list: the Garlic Bread 🍞 and the Red Velvet Cake 🍰. Whenever I'm making an Italian dinner, this garlic bread will always be my go-to, and for anyone who loves red velvet, I'll be making this cake every time.

Recipes Made So Far This Year:

Goal: To try 7 different recipes each week 🗓️, aiming for a total of 365 this year!
 Number of New Recipes Tested as of 2/4: 88
Weeks Achieving 7 or More New Recipes: 10 out of 10

This Week’s Recipe Test Summary

Impress Someone🌟

Garlic Bread from Food Network by Guy Fieri 🍞🧄

This was quite different to your typical garlic bread, and everyone loved it. H even asked if we would have it around the house as a regular weekly snack. I added dried parsley instead of fresh.

I shared a slice with my dad, sister and brother-in-law. My dad eat it right away in the car and gave it a 10/10 - he loves food but is not an easy grader, so I was so so happy. I had offered three slices to my sister and she only took two; she later texted me, saying she was sad she did not grab the other piece and loved it. Dylan said “the cake…incredible!!! Better than Sprinkles no joke, can’t believe it! So good!”

My friends loved these at dinner. My friend Victor texted me afterwards saying, “Cookies were as close to perfect as possible. Also lighter, quite rich and gooey. Better than actual shop cookies. What cookies from big chains claim to be, but they lie.”

Would Make Again 👍

I want to make this smoothie bowl for my niece and nephew.

Gochujang-Sesame Noodles from bon appétit by Zaynab Issa🍜🌶️

Just another gochujang recipe I love. It had a unique taste, and I think it might not be for everyone.

I used this recipe for the red velvet cake, and it worked out very weak. However, I think there might be a better recipe out there if tried solo.

Would Not Make Again 👎

These recipes didn’t live up to expectations or just weren’t to my taste.

Mozzarella Mac and Cheese by Dan Pelosi 🧀

In case you missed it, I’ve put together some quick video tutorials showcasing my go-to recipe app - Paprika Recipe Manager.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or any recipe request you might have. Just respond directly to this email.

See you next week. Keep cooking! 👋 

Vale from ValeCooks