600 acres Blog

My Top Recipe Picks and Favorites

I don’t recall how I came across the 600 acres blog, but it was a treasure! Since 2020, I have tested 16 different recipes from her blog, and every time I try one, I get really excited. 🎉 Unfortunately, she hasn’t posted a recipe since October 2022, but she’s still active on Instagram here and there.

I’ve tried so many recipes from different people, and even my favorite cooks have had some disaster recipes. But hers seem to always be solid. If a recipe isn’t to my taste, it’s never labeled as bad—just not for me. I’ve even gone through all her recipes listed on her blog and saved the ones I want to try one day. 📚✨

Photo Credit: 600 arces

Out of the 16 recipes I’ve made, nine have passed my test and earned a place in my recipe book:

  • My favorite recipe of hers is the Extra-Spicy Pumpkin Bread. 🎃 It’s heavy on the spices and lighter on the sugar, making it my favorite pumpkin recipe.

  • My twin brother’s favorite is the Farmhouse Buttermilk Cake. 🍰 This is like a pecan pie in cake form, and Gus even asked for it for his birthday.

  • My nephew Nico’s favorite is the Soft + Chewy Funfetti Cookies. 🍪 I’ve made these twice for his school gatherings.

The other two recipes that have earned a five-star rating in my Paprika app are:

I also recommend these four recipes that have a four-star rating:

I have many other recipes from her blog that I’m excited to try! 🍽️

Recipe Request and Recommendation Corner 📬

Another sister visit calls for another ‘bliss ball’ recipe request - Almond Butter Bliss Balls from My Goodness Kitchen 🌰✨

Recipes Made So Far This Year:

Goal: To try seven new recipes each week 🗓️, aiming for 365 this year!

 Number of Recipes Made this Week: 7

Number of New Recipes Tested as of 8/18: 288

Weeks Achieving Seven or More New Recipes: 32 out of 33 ✅

This Week’s Recipe Test Summary

Impress Someone🌟

Nothing this week.

Would Make Again 👍

My dad said these were “espectacularmente ricas” or spectacularly rich. He even messaged me saying congrats! These are great as sweet one-bite treats for a family gathering or social event. They are pretty sweet, so I think 2-3 bites are perfect.

This salad reminded me of a Bucca di Beppo style salad. Simple, quick, and easy to make.

I loved this cake so much! I’m a big fan of chai, and the ‘caramel’ sauce on top is delicious and makes it so tasty. The spices and everything about it are perfect. After the first bite, I told my mom - this is me in a cake!

I’ve made my sister lots of ‘bliss balls,’ but I have to say these might be my favorite so far.

Would Not Make Again 👎

These recipes didn’t live up to expectations or weren’t to my taste

I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or any recipe requests you might have. Just respond directly to this email.

See you next week. Keep cooking! 👋 

Vale from ValeCooks