• ValeCooks
  • Posts
  • 16 Different Recipes in One Week! 🍽️✨

16 Different Recipes in One Week! 🍽️✨

This past week, I made more recipes in a week than ever before. I made 16 recipes in total! I had a lot of fruit that would soon go bad, so I found recipes to make with them. 🍓🍑🍒

Recipe Request and Recommendation Corner 📬

My sister sent me this: Shaved Frozen Peaches and Cream from Carolina Gelen | Instagram Reel. Last week, I made homemade brown sugar syrup for this recipe, which I rated “Impress Someone,” and this recipe also falls in the same category. This recipe is as simple as it gets. I used a mandoline to ‘shave’ a frozen peach, quickly whipped my heavy cream, and poured my brown sugar syrup on top. If I didn’t make it myself, I would be like, "What is this?" in a great way. It is so simple yet so delicious by taste and texture. It felt like a dessert they would give you at a 7-course restaurant where you have no idea what the dessert is, but it’s so delicious and delicate.

She also sent me this- Easy Creamy Zucchini Pasta Sauce from the Burnt Butter Table. Such an easy recipe, and it really is delicious and creamy! 🥒🍝

If you have a request, simply respond to this email. I have a running list of things to make, mostly from my sister and aunt 🙂

Recipes Made So Far This Year:

Goal: To try seven new recipes each week 🗓️, aiming for 365 this year!

 Number of Recipes Made this Week: 16

Number of New Recipes Tested as of 7/7: 244

Weeks Achieving Seven or More New Recipes: 26 out of 27

This Week’s Recipe Test Summary

Impress Someone🌟

Shaved Frozen Peaches and Cream from Carolina Gelen | Instagram Reel 🍑

Would Make Again 👍

This is a healthy toddler-approved treat—my niece and nephew were licking their fingers and asking for more.

Last week, I wrote about my negative bias towards overnight oats. But this felt more like a combo of my favorite daily breakfasts—oatmeal with raspberry or Greek yogurt with raspberries and chia seeds. It had everything in one cup, and I am adding this to my meal prep options. Note that I did not add the white chocolate because last night, it felt more like dessert than breakfast.

As you might know, I am not a fan of recipes with incomplete steps. This one gives you the recipe for the crumb, and you choose the fruit, amount, and size of the pan you make it in. I made it in a cast iron pan. It is a super easy dessert to make for a quick dinner with your friends. My friend loved it and served herself seconds.

I am unsure why, but the liquid separated after I froze the pops. But I enjoyed them anyway. With this heat, it is great to have some frozen watermelon.

Would Not Make Again 👎

These recipes didn’t live up to expectations or weren’t to my taste

missing a few pictures

These four frozen treats tasted good but not good enough to repeat. This summer, my freezer is well-stocked with homemade pops for anyone who comes and visits. I am always in search of more pop recipes.

I was hosting dinner, and my friends were bringing my favorite sourdough bread, so I made some dips to accompany it, but they were just okay. Nothing better than sourdough bread with just some simple Challenge butter.

I am still in the search for a homemade matcha that is better than cafe-bought.

Basic recipe for having friends over, but I prefer making an actual “agua fresca.”

It felt more like jello than a marshmallow.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or any recipe requests you might have. Just respond directly to this email.

See you next week. Keep cooking! 👋 

Vale from ValeCooks